International Fiscal Association

The International Fiscal Association (IFA) is the only non-governmental and non-sectoral international organisation dealing with fiscal matters. IFA’s objects are the study and advancement of international and comparative law in regard to public finance, specifically international and comparative fiscal law and the financial and economic aspects of taxation. As a non-profit organisation, IFA provides a neutral and independent platform where representatives of all professions and interests can meet and discuss international tax issues at the highest level.

Since its establishment in 1938 in the Netherlands, IFA has grown to a truly global association with more than 12,900 members from 114 countries. IFA members have established IFA Branches in 72 countries. For members in countries where an IFA Branch has not yet been established, IFA facilitates direct membership. IFA provides a unique forum for discussing international fiscal matters.

Group of business partner looking for the future. Concept of corporate and startup

Australian Branch

The Australian Branch of IFA was established more than 60 years ago in 1957, as the sixteenth IFA Branch to be founded globally. The Australian Branch is an unincorporated association (ABN 96 791 414 272) with the objects of advancing the study of international tax law of Australia, international and comparative fiscal law and the financial and economic aspects of taxation.


The Australian Branch holds seminars and congresses in the field of tax law and other activities in the field of scientific research, publication and distribution of knowledge with a particular view to the consideration of tax from an Australian perspective. Seminars are open to interested participants from the public as well as members.

IFA Australia hosted two of IFA’s Annual International Congresses in Sydney in 1978 and 2003. IFA Australia has been selected to host the IFA Annual Congress in 2024 in Melbourne.

In 2019, IFA Australia is hosting the 5th Asia Pacific Regional Meeting of IFA in Melbourne. For further information, refer to Events.

Conferences are organised by International Fiscal Association Australia Ltd.
The IFA Australian Branch and IFA Australia Ltd have charitable status as educational not for profit organisations. Details about charitable status are available on the Australian Charities and Not for Profits Commission website.

Australian Branch Executive Members

  • Professor Richard Vann (Branch Chairman)
    (University of Sydney Law School)
  • Mr Paul Sokolowski (Branch Secretary)
    (Arnold Bloch Leibler)
  • Mr Jock McCormack (Branch Treasurer)
    (DLA Piper Australia)
  • Dr Niv Tadmore (Clayton Utz)
  • Professor Miranda Stewart
    (University of Melbourne Law School)
  • Mr Andrew Mills (Australian Taxation Office)
  • Ms Chloe Burnett
    (Sixth Floor Selborne & Wentworth Chambers)
  • Ms Michelle de Niese (Corporate Tax Association)
  • Ms Sarah Blakelock (Slaughter and May)
  • Professor Dale Pinto
    (Curtin University of Technology Law School)
  • Ms Heidi Armin-Grimm (Deloitte Legal)