IFA New Zealand Branch Event – Treaty Shopping and the Supreme Court of Canada’s Decision in Alta Energy

Friday, 6 May 2022
10:00am to 11:20am (AEST); 12:00pm to 1:20pm (NZST); 9:00am to 10:20am (JST); 8:00am to 9:20 (GMT+8)

The New Zealand branch is pleased to invite IFA members from throughout the Asia-Pacific region to join this webinar. Please contact Joanne Kreeger (joanne.r.kreeger@pwc.com) to confirm your attendance and you will receive a Teams meeting invitation.

 

IFA New Zealand branch members and Young IFA members are invited to a webinar to discuss ‘treaty shopping’ and the Supreme Court of Canada’s decision in Alta Energy, in which a majority of the Court held that Canada’s general anti-avoidance rule did not apply to disallow relief from Canadian tax under the Canada-Luxembourg Double Tax Agreement.
The discussion will be led by Canadian international tax expert, Brian Arnold, with commentary on the New Zealand perspective to be provided by Brendan Brown (Mayne Wetherell) and Carmel Peters (Inland Revenue). There will be an opportunity for questions and comments from participants.
Professor Craig Elliffe (University of Auckland) will chair the event.
 

 

The event is finished.

Date

May 06 2022
Expired!

Time

10:00 am - 11:20 pm